Virat Kohli Creates History, Sweeps all Three Major ICC Awards

8 shares, 72 points
virat kohli

Virat Kohli has become the first player in the history of cricket for winning three major ICC Awards in the same year. Kohli has won the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year, Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year award, and the ICC ODI Player of the Year award thanks to his extraordinary performance on the field in 2018.

Kohli scored 1,322 runs between the wickets keeping an average of 55.08 in 13 test matches with 5 centuries in the kitty in 2018. Apart from that he also scored a total of 1202 runs in 14 ODIs while keeping an amazing average of 133.55 along with 6 hundreds’. Kohli also scored 211 runs in 10 T20 matches in the same calendar year.

“Not only is Kohli the first player to win these three major ICC awards together but he has also been named the captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year for a fabulous run in international cricket,” said the ICC said in the official statement.

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing.” the quoted Kohli.

The 30-year old cricketer also said that he feels proud to achieve this global recognition as a cricketer from ICC, especially when many other great players are “playing the same game”. He further added that such recognition and achievement gives him more motivation to keep performing the same way so as to maintain a standard of cricket and also for consistent performance.

Celebrities and the Common Mass Congratulate Kohli on His Triple ICC Win

Congratulatory messages for Kohli poured in especially on Twitter from celebrities and the common people, alike.

However, there were also some extremely humorous reactions to Virat Kohli’s triple ICC awards win.

However, this is not the first time Kohli has won such honours from the ICC. He was awarded the ICC ODI Player of the Year and the Sir Garfield Trophy in 2018 as well and he was named the ICC ODI player of the Year in the year 2012.


Banner Image Credit:


Like it? Share with your friends!

8 shares, 72 points
Awesome India